Roddy Woomble

Roddy Woomble was born in Ayrshire in 1976. During his childhood he and his family moved about frequently, living in France, England, and America before settling in the Scottish coastal town of Carnoustie where Roddy spent his teenage years before moving, at eighteen in 1995 to Edinburgh to study Photography. After spells living in London, New York city and Glasgow, Roddy currently lives with his family in the western isles.

It was at University in Edinburgh that Roddy met Colin Newton and Rod Jones and formed the group Idlewild. The band have gone on to record and release eight acclaimed albums and three compilations. Two of these albums debuted in the UK top ten. They have released twelve UK top forty singles and have toured throughout the world, as a headline act, and also as support to REM, U2 and the Rolling Stones amongst others.  Idlewild took a hiatus from 2010-2013, but released a new album 'Everything ever written' in 2015 - the album and subsequent European and japan tour were critcially acclaimed. The band are currently writing and recording a new LP.

In 2006 Roddy released his debut solo album 'My secret is my silence'. The record featured Rod Jones from Idlewild, Ailidh lennon and David Gow from Sons and daughters, and acclaimed folk musicians Andy Cutting, Kate Rusby,Ian Carr and Karine Polwart. It was produced by John McCusker. The album featured in many 'best of the year' polls, and spent several weeks at number 1 in the UK folk charts. The album was released in the US a year later on the 7-10 label.

in 2007 Roddy was responsible for organising the LP 'Ballads of the book' a collaboration between Scottish poets and writers, singers and bands. It was released on the Chemikal Underground label. 

'Before the Ruin', the debut album as 'Drever, McCusker & Woomble' was released to much acclaim in 2008. The trio toured extensively around the UK to support the album. Roddy's second solo album 'The impossible song & others songs' was released on Greenvoe/EMI on March 21st  2011. It was written and recorded in the An Tobar arts centre, In Tobermory on the Isle of Mull. Along with his band (Sorren Maclean, Seonaid Aitken, Gavin Fox and Danny Grant) Roddy toured the album extensively around the UK, playing over 100 shows in 2011/12. 

'Listen to Keep' Roddys third solo album was released on March 4th 2013 on reveal records. Like its predecessor it was recorded at An Tobar in Mull with his band. Once again Roddy toured the record extensivley around the UK. A live album 'live in the inner hebrides' appeared in 2014. Another live album 'Live at Kings place' was also released via Bowers & Wilkins. 

Roddy is also a writer and contributor to several Scottish publications. From 2004-2006 he wrote a monthly column for the list magazine, as well as contributing restaurant reviews to their eating & drinking guide. He has written several pieces over the years for the Sunday Herald newspaper, and in March 2008 started writing a weekly column for the magazine section. This ended in April 2009. He has also contributed to the Observer and The Sunday times. from October 2008 - April 2010 he wrote a monthly column for the outdoor pursuits magazine 'TGO', his column, titled 'Woomble's way' was all about his rambles around Scotland and beyond. More recently he has written a column about life on the Scottish Islands for the popular 'Idler' magazine. In 2016 Roddy also released his first book - 'Instrumentals', which was a collection of words, song lyrics, drawings and paintings spanning his twenty year career. 

Roddy has made many appearances on the radio, including hosting the popular BBC radio Scotland 'Ian Anderson show' for two weeks in the summer of 2008. He has made spoken appearances at the Edinburgh book festival, the 'Aye write' book festival in glasgow , and the 'word' book festival in Aberdeen. 


Roddy Woomble discography

with Idlewild

Captain (1998)

Hope is Important (1998)

100 Broken Windows (2000)

The Remote Part (2002)

Warnings/Promises (2005)

Make Another World (2007)

Post Electric Blues (2009)

Everything Ever Written (2015)


compilations - 

Scottish Fiction: best of 1997-2007 (2007)

A Distant history: Rarities and B sides 1997-2007 (2007)

EMI gold collection (2010)


As Solo - 

My secret is my silence (2006)

Before the Ruin (with John McCusker and Kris Drever 2008)

The impossible song & other songs (2011)

Listen to Keep (2013)

Live in the Inner Hebrides (2014)

Live at Kings Place (2014)